Skip to main content

WVU Research Corporation

The WVURC was created as a not-for-profit corporation in 1985 to support research at West Virginia University, and provide evaluation, development, patenting, management, and marketing services for inventions of the faculty, staff and students of the University.

The WVURC receives and administers funds awarded by external agencies for research and other activities and is responsible for helping protect intellectual property through patents, copyrights and licensing agreements for start up companies based on University research.


Narvel Weese, Executive Director
Dan Durbin, Treasurer
Alan Martin, Secretary

Additional Information

West Virginia University Research Corporation
886 Chestnut Ridge Road
PO Box 6845
Morgantown, WV 26506-6845
Phone: (304) 293-3998
Fax: (304) 293-7435

Organizational DUNS:

Employer Identification (FEIN):

Type of Applicant:
Nonprofit with 501©3 IRS Status (Other than Institution of Higher Education)

Board of Directors


  1. WVU President – E. Gordon Gee, Chairperson
  2. WVU Provost – Joyce McConnell
  3. Vice President for Health Sciences - Clay Marsh
  4. Vice President for Administration and Finance – Narvel Weese
  5. Vice President for Research - Fred King
  6. Sr. Associate Vice President for Health Sciences Research & Graduate Education - Laura Gibson
  7. Vice President for Legal, Government, and Entrepreneurial Engagement - Rob Alsop
  8. Faculty Representative – Vacant
  9. Dean Representative - Vacant


  1. Executive Director – Narvel Weese
  2. Treasurer – Dan Durbin
  3. Secretary – Alan Martin